It is my great pleasure to welcome you to the official website of the Department of Philosophy at the Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria. The Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife was established in 1962 as The University of Ife and, since its establishment, ranked among the best Universities not only in Nigeria but in Africa. In the early seventies at the then University of Ife, the Philosophy programme was run in a joint Philosophy/Religious Studies Department until the 1975/76 academic session, when Philosophy and Religious Studies were established as separate Departments. As was the case with many other academic Departments, the Department of Philosophy was staffed largely by expatriate Professors and lecturers, mainly from British and American Universities. Among the foundation members of the academic staff were Professor Olubi Sodipo (of blessed memory),

Professor Akin Makinde, Professor Barry Hallen (currently Professor and Chair, Department of Philosophy and Religion, Morehouse College, Atlanta), Dr. Dipo Fashina, Professor Bedu Addo (currently at the University of Cape Coast, Ghana) and Professor Segun Gbadegesin. The solid academic foundation laid by the pioneer scholars made the Department of Philosophy at Ife one of the best in Africa. Currently, the department has close to five hundred students in its various programmes. Philosophy is taken seriously at the Obafemi Awolowo University and this is well demonstrated in the high quality of our graduates produced over the years. Most of our graduates occupy various academic and administrative positions both nationally and internationally. The website offers you the opportunity to know more about the Department. I enjoin you to read through the information made available on each page and if you wish to study Philosophy in Nigeria then Obafemi Awolowo University (Africa’s most beautiful campus) offers you the best opportunity.

Prof. Yunus Kehinde Salami

Tuesday the 17th - . Thanks to Joomla 2.5 templates by FTS