Quality of our Graduate


Quality of Graduate of Philosophy at the Obafemi Awolowo University
The effectiveness of all members of the academic staff in the Department in terms of research, teaching and community service is not in doubt. The high quality of graduates of the philosophy programme and the world class quality of their scholarly publications attest to this claim. Most of the products of the Department are doing well in their various callings in life. This is made possible by the solid academic foundation they all received in the Department. Some of our products have obtained higher degrees (M.A.s, M. Phil’s and Ph.D.s) in philosophy and related subjects. Many graduates from the Department currently hold important positions of responsibility as top academics, civil servants, political appointees and business men and women, not only in Nigeria but even across the globe. At present, out of the current sixteen members of the academic staff, only two (Professor M. Makinde and Dr. Dipo Fashina) did not graduate from the Department. Others either obtained all their degrees up to Ph.D level from the Department or currently on different higher degree programmes. Also graduates of O.A.U. Philosophy are serving as senior academics at other Nigerian Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges of Education. It is also noteworthy that some of the graduates of Philosophy from O.A.U. teach/taught in many British and American Universities (among other places) as Professors and research scholars. Among them are Professor Segun Gbadegesin (Howard University, Washingnton D.C., U.S.A), Professor Nkiru Nzegwu, Professor of Philosophy and African Studies, at the New York State University, Binghamton, New York, U.S.A., Professor Femi Taiwo, Professor of Philosophy at Seattle University, Seattle, Washington, U.S.A., Professor Leke Adeofe, Professor and Chair, Triton College, Triton, Illinois, U.S.A., Professor Tunde Bewaji, Professor of Philosophy, University of West Indies, Kingston, Jamaica, Professor Kolapo Abimbola, Lecturer, Faculty of Law, University of Leicester, Leicester, U.K.

Tuesday the 17th - . Thanks to Joomla 2.5 templates by FTS